May 2008

Dear Colleagues,
The Board of Directors (BOD) met in February and several important activities were on the agenda. The IASLC was proud to award 7 new fellowships and 3 Young Investigators Awards each with US$ 40.000 per year for 2 years. The IASLC fellowship program is growing. The BOD would like to encourage more applicants from Asia, South America and Australia for the future applications.
The plans for the World Conference in San Francisco, July 2009 are progressing and the 1st announcement will be distributed at ASCO 2008. Also the plans for the World Conference in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, 2011 is shaping up.
There were 7 applicants for hosting the World Conference 2013and the BOD has site-visited the short-listed Hong Kong and Sidney. A final decision will be made at the BOD meeting in Chicago in June.
The first IASLC/ESMO European Lung Cancer Conference was held recently in Geneva, Switzerland. The numbers of participants and abstracts were beyond expected. About 1.400 participants were present and 250 abstracts were submitted. The meeting was scientifically very successful.
In North America the planning of the 1st IASLC/ASCO/ASTRO/University of Chicago Lung Cancer Conference in Chicago, November 13-15 is almost completed. The IASLC members are encouraged to submit abstracts by the dead-line of June 13th.
The “IASLC History Book” edited by Professor Heine Hoi Hansen, Denmark, is currently in the final stage of editing, and the plan is to have the book published summer 2009.
Fred R. Hirsch, MD, PhD
Editor, IASLC Newsletter

IASLC Fellowships/Young Investigator Awards:

Ilse Valencia, Adi Gazdar - UT Southwestern, TX - Induction c-MET signaling pathway through HIF-1α and COX-2 in non-small cell lung cancer cell lines

M. Naomi Horiba, Martin Edelman - University of Maryland - Myeloid derived suppressor cells in non small cell lung cancer: Influence of tumor bulk and COX-2

Khaled A. Hassan, Gregory Kalemkerian - University of Michigan - Targeting the Notch Pathway in Lung Cancer Cell Lines and Lung Cancer Stem Cells

Shantanu Banerji, Matthew Meyerson - Dana-Farber Cancer Institute - Identification of Genome alterations in small cell lung cancer to develop new therapeutic strategies

Nir Peled, Fred R. Hirsch - University of Colorado - Early detection of lung cancer by a novel exhaled air volatile organic compounds (VOCs) analysis

Sebahat Ocak, Pierre Massion - Vanderbilt University - Identification of Proteomic Biomarkers for the Early Detection and Prognosis of small cell lung cancer

Thomas John, Ming-Sound Tsao - Princess Margaret Hospital, Toronto - Predicting response to chemotherapy in non small cell lung cancer patients using genomic profiles developed in mouse xenografts.

D. Ross Camidge, Young Investigator Award - University of Colorado - Mechanisms of cell death in non small cell lung cancer and small cell lung cancer cell lines

Boone Goodgame, Young Investigator Award - Washington University School of Medicine - Predicting brain metastasis in definitively treated non-small cell lung cancer

Prasad Adusumilli, Young Investigator Award - Memorial Sloan-Kettering - Regional delivery of tumor antigen targeted immunotherapy for the treatment of visceral pleural invasion in resected non-small cell lung cancer

IASLC/ ESMO 1st European Lung Cancer Conference:
The conference was recently held in Geneva, Switzerland, April 24-26. The meeting was very successful with about 1.400 participants and 200 scientific presentations. Abstracts are available at
The program had 45 scientific sessions and several satellite symposia were included in the program as well.

Professor Heine Hoi Hansen, Copenhagen, received an IASLC/ESMO Award in recognition for his unique leadership role in IASLC and his significant role for the development of the organization in more than 3 decades. He was recognized by ESMO for his role of establishing medical oncology as a speciality in Europe and more lately for the development of medical oncology and lung cancer research in Eastern Europe. The Award was presented to Professor Hansen by IASLC Executive Director, Professor Paul A. Bunn, Jr. Dr. Hansen gave a lecture on “Lung Cancer- A Man Made Disease”, a review of the evolution of lung cancer as a recognized, specific, tobacco-related disease.

Dr. Heine Hoi Hansen receiving the IASLC/ESMO Award: .

2008 Chicago Multidisciplinary Symposium in Thoracic Oncology:

Chicago 2008
The 2009 Chicago Multidisciplinary Symposium in Thoracic Oncology will take place November 13-15, 2008. Deadline for abstract: June 13, 2008. For more information please go to

Coming workshops:
June 18-21, 2008
Ninth International Lung Cancer Congress
Place: Kauai, Hawaii
For more information:

June 20-21, 2008
3rd International Euroregional Workshop on Advances in Thoracic Cancer Treatment
Place: Vilnius, Lithuania
For more information:

July 9-12, 2008
International Lung Cancer Conference Liverpool 2008
Place: Liverpool, UK
For more information: or ILCCL Presentation

August 21-24, 2008
2008 Australian Lung Cancer Conference
Place: Queensland, Australia
For more information:

October 1-5, 2008
International Thoracic Oncology Congress
Place: Dresden, Germany
For more information:

October 9-10, 2008
3rd Latin American Cancer Conference
Place: Vina del Mar, Chile
Contact: Nise Yamaguchi, MD
For more information: or

November 13-15, 2008
Malignancies of the Chest and Head and Neck
Place: Chicago, Illinois

December 5-7, 2008
3rd Asia Pacific Lung Cancer Congress
Place: Convention Center - Hotel Marriott Hyderabad - Hyderabad, India
Contact: Dr. AA Ranade
For more information:

April 1-5, 2009
4th IASLC/ASCO/ESMO International Meeting on Targeted Therapies on Lung Cancer
Place: Saint Paul de Vence, France
For more information:

New members March 1 – April 30, 2008
South Korea
Michael MacManus
Stefano Gasparini
Chang-Min Choi
Patricia Kho
Anna Ceribelli
Stefan Hubert Gross
Jean-Pol Quarre
Chiaki Endo
Takeshi Mori
Araya Adulbhan
Shannon Simoneau
Masahiko Harada
Shirley Chen
Jitsuo Usuda
Meltem Tor
Tomohito Saito
Macy Tong
Philip Hasleton
Siu-Kie Au
Tome Stefanovski
Mehdi Shahidi
Annamari Rouhos
Luis Argote-Greene
Stephanie Smith-Marrone
Jasleen Kukreja
Andreas Franke
Ellen G.M. Cobben-Beld
Mark Napier
Hans Blaauwgeers
Nicolas Girard
Theodora Kerenidi
Joost Knegjens
Allan Balmain
Mark Huberman
Helgi Isaksson
Tommy Reyes
Harry Raftopoulos
Kenneth Beer
Ashvin Rangole
Maria Paula Ferreira