Research & Education

Advances in Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer: Approaches to the management of TKI resistance and the role of T790M emergence

Tuesday, February 25, 2015 - Recording Available

 

Sword
   

Jonathan Goldman, MD
Assistant Professor
UCLA Hematology & Oncology
Associate Director of Drug Development
Director of Clinical Trials in Thoracic Oncology

Heather Wakelee, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Oncology
Co-Director Thoracic Oncology Clinical Research Group
Faculty Director Cancer Clinical Trials Office
Stanford University - Stanford Cancer Institute

Name of Reviewer(s): 

              

Fred Hirsch, MD, PhD –Speakers Bureau/Advisory Board: Astrazeneca, Genentech, BMS, Lilly and Abbvie.

Name of Planner(s): 

 

     Deb Whippen-Nothing to Disclose

Name of Activity: 

 

Approaches to the management of TKI resistance and the role of T790M

Date of Activity:

 

02/25/2015

Faculty/Speaker(s):

Resolution of COI: Ensure a balanced discussion of alternative. Do not use trade names. Do not refer to company names or logos. Do not recommend therapies.

 

Heather Wakelee, MD 

Consulting/Advisory Board for: Peregrine, ACEA Biosciences, Pfizer, Novartis, Clovis Oncology, Genentech/Roche.

Jonathan Goldman, MD-

Research Support from: Clovis, Lilly, BMS, Genentech, Synta and Astex.

Type of Activity: 

 Live Course

  Internet Live Course (Webinar)

 Internet Enduring Material

Are there Commercial Supporters for this activity?

            No

If yes, please list:

IASLC is holding a LIVE WEBINAR featuring Dr. Jonathan Goldman and Dr. Heather Wakelee. This Webinar will:

  • Provide a current understanding of the development of acquired resistance in patients responding to TKI therapies
  • Address the role of the gatekeeper mutation T790M in the development of acquired resistance
  • Describe the design and activity of covalent drug therapies that selectively target initial activating EGFR mutations and T790M resistance mutations
  • Review the available clinical data in patients treated with covalent drug therapies

 Following didactic presentations, Drs. Goldman and Wakelee will be available for a question/answer and discussion session with the audience. Attendees will be able to submit questions and comments via internet chat.

CME INFORMATION:

Financial/Commercial Relationships DISCLOSURES

A Conflict of Interest (COI) is created and exists when individuals in a position to control the content of CME, or their spouses/partners, that have a relevant personal financial relationship within the past 12 months with a commercial interest that produces, markets, re-sells, or distributes health care goods or services consumed by, or used, on patients that benefits the individual in any financial amount and therefore, may bias their opinions and teachings. This may include receiving a salary, royalty, intellectual property rights, consulting fee, honoraria, ownership interest (e.g., stocks, stock options or other ownership interest, excluding diversified mutual funds), or any other financial benefit. Financial benefits are usually associated with roles such as employment, management position, independent contractor (including contracted research and clinical trials), consulting, speaking and teaching, membership on advisory committees or review panels, board membership, and other activities for which remuneration is received or expected. 

 This IASLC CME educational activity was planned and developed to: uphold academic standards to ensure balance, independence, objectivity, and scientific rigor; adhere to requirements to protect health information under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA); and, include a mechanism to inform learners when unapproved or unlabeled uses of therapeutic products or agents are discussed or referenced.

IASLC CME assures that the planners/reviewers/authors/faculty/moderators/peer reviewers et. al. conflicts of interest  were identified, reviewed and resolved from all individuals involved in the development  or able to influence and control the content of this CME activity; IASLC CME assures that disclosure is given prior to an educational activity being delivered to learners.  Any individual who failed or refused to disclose relevant financial relationships was disqualified from this CME activity and removed from any of IASLC CME activity presentation.

All commercial relationships and conflicts of interest that are identified are thoroughly vetted by IASLC Ethics Committee, CME Subcommittee, and Independent reviewer. COI will be evaluated by the Board of Directors of the IASLC for fair balance, scientific objectivity of studies utilized in this activity, and patient care recommendations. IASLC CME is committed to providing its learners with high-quality CME activities and related materials that promote improvements or quality in health care and not a specific proprietary business interest of a commercial entity.

 

CREDIT STATEMENT

IASLC is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

IASLC CME designates this Internet Live Course activity for a maximum of 1 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™.  Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

GOAL & PURPOSE

The objective of this workshop was to enable fruitful collaborations that could help design a high  clinical study to assess the efficacy of a targeted-therapy in a specific lung cancer population, while helping to collect data for regulatory approval.

TARGET AUDIENCE

This CME live webinar series is designed to meet the educational needs of healthcare professionals who diagnose and treat patients with lung cancer, including medical oncologists, thoracic surgeons, pulmonologists, radiation oncologists, radiologists, pathologists and advanced practice nurses and physicians' assistants.

DISCLAMER

Participants have an implied responsibility to use the newly acquired information to enhance patient outcomes and their own professional development. The information presented in this activity is not meant to serve as a guideline for patient management. Any procedures, medications, or other courses of diagnosis or treatment discussed or suggested in this activity should not be used by clinicians without evaluation of their patient’s conditions and possible contraindications on dangers in use, review of any applicable manufacturer’s product information, and comparison with recommendations of other authorities.

Thank you for your participation.

IASLC Policy on Financial/Commercial Relationships & Conflicts of Interest

IASLC Invited Speaker Honoraria Policy

IASLC Commercial Relationships Agreement

DOWNLOAD RECORDING

 

Location Local time Time zone UTC offset
New York (U.S.A. - New York) Tuesday, February 25, 2015 at 9:00:00 PM EST UTC-5 hours
Chicago (U.S.A. - Illinois) Tuesday, February 25, 2015 at 8:00:00 PM CST UTC-6 hours
Denver (U.S.A. - Colorado) Tuesday, February 25, 2015 at 7:00:00 PM MST UTC-7 hours
San Francisco (U.S.A. - California) Tuesday, February 25, 2015 at 6:00:00 PM PST UTC-8 hours
London (United Kingdom - England) Wednesday, February 26, 2015 at 2:00:00 AM GMT UTC
Rome (Italy) Wednesday, February 26, 2015 at 3:00:00 AM CET UTC+1 hour
Tokyo (Japan) Wednesday, February 26, 2015 at 11:00:00 AM JST UTC+9 hours
Shanghai (China - Shanghai Municipality) Wednesday, February 26, 2015 at 10:00:00 AM CST UTC+8 hours
Sydney (Australia - New South Wales) Wednesday, February 26, 2015 at 1:00:00 PM AEDT UTC+11 hours
Corresponding UTC (GMT) Wednesday, February 25, 2015 at 02:00:00    

How to use the Time Zone Converter