Research & Education

Grand Rounds Session #10 - Early Palliative Care for Patients with Advanced Lung Cancer

Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 8:00PM EDT - Recording Available

The Tenth webinar in the series: IASLC Grand Rounds Series - Early Palliative Care for Patients with Advanced Lung Cancer Will take place on November 12, 2014 at 8:00PM EDT.

   

Jennifer Temel M.D.
Clinical Director Thoracic Oncology
Director Cancer Outcomes
Research Massachusetts General Hospital

Ramaswamy Govindan, MD - Program Chair
Co-Director, Section of Medical Oncology
Professor of Medicine
Division of Oncology
Washington University School of Medicine

The IASLC Lung Cancer Grand Rounds series continues on November 12, 2014. Dr. Jennifer Temel will address the role of early palliative care in patients with advanced lung cancer. This presentation will:

  • Review data describing the physical and psychological symptom burden in patients with advanced lung cancer
  • Discuss the importance of patient-clinician communication about prognosis and goals of care for patients with advanced lung cancer
  • Address the role of palliative care in enhancing patients' symptom control and quality of life
  • Highlight the need for improving communication about prognosis and end of life care

 Following a short, didactic presentation, Dr. Temel will present a few case studies and thereafter, Dr. Govindan will moderate the ensuing discussion and a question/answer session with the audience. There will be ample opportunity for attendees to submit questions and comments to the faculty via internet chat.

After attending this program, participants will: 

  • Appreciate the physical and psychological symptom burden in patients with advanced lung cancer
  • Understand the importance of communication about prognosis and goals of care
  • Gain insight into the relationship between patients understanding of their prognosis and their decision-making
  • Be familiar with the data for an early focus on palliative care in patients with advanced cancers

This CME live webinar series is designed to meet the educational needs of healthcare professionals who diagnose and treat patients with lung cancer, including medical oncologists, thoracic surgeons, pulmonologists, radiation oncologists, radiologists, pathologists and advanced practice nurses and physicians' assistants. 

DOWNLOAD WEBINAR

CME INFO:

This CME live webinar series is designed to meet the educational needs of healthcare professionals who diagnose and treat patients with lung cancer, including medical oncologists, thoracic surgeons, pulmonologists, radiation oncologists, radiologists, pathologists and advanced practice nurses and physicians' assistants. Participants who complete a pre-and post-test along with an evaluation will receive 1 AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM for each completed webinar.

If you are interested in obtaining the CME Credits for these sessions you must indicate this when you register for the program.

Location Local time Time zone UTC offset
Los Angeles (U.S.A. - California) Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 2:00:00 PM PST UTC-8 hours
Denver (U.S.A. - Colorado) Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 3:00:00 PM MST UTC-7 hours
Chicago (U.S.A. - Illinois) Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 4:00:00 PM CST UTC-6 hours
New York (U.S.A. - New York) Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 5:00:00 PM EST UTC-5 hours
São Paulo (Brazil - São Paulo) Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 8:00:00 PM BRST UTC-2 hours
Paris (France) Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 11:00:00 PM CET UTC+1 hour
Hong Kong (Hong Kong) Thursday, November 13, 2014 at 6:00:00 AM HKT UTC+8 hours
Tokyo (Japan) Thursday, November 13, 2014 at 7:00:00 AM JST UTC+9 hours
Corresponding UTC (GMT) Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 22:00:00  

This series is supported in part by unrestricted educational grants provided by Bristol-Myers Squibb Co., Celgene and Genentech