Cancer Care Team Award

Excellence as defined by the patient.
Latin America  2020 Cancer Care Team Award Winners

Highlighting Worldwide Outstanding Care

Exceptional care for patients with lung cancer is not limited to interactions with any one specialist or care center. Oftentimes delivery of patient care is at its best when multidisciplinary team members offer the patient seamless and informed communication, as well as an individualized treatment plan based on not just the patient’s needs but the patient’s wishes. Knowing that this type of stellar care is happening around the world every day, the IASLC Cancer Care Team Award recognizes these multidisciplinary teams, as nominated by the patients they serve. What more prestigious honor could there be?

Pictured here is the 2020 Latin American winners: Instituto De Oncologia 'Angel H. Roffo' Buenos Aires, Argentina

Nominations Open February 22, 2022

Who can nominate?

We invite and encourage individual patients with lung cancer and their caregivers to nominate a multidisciplinary care team who they feel provided exceptional care.

Who can I nominate?

A nomination can include up to six individuals from the care team (e.g., oncologist, surgeon, nurse, palliative care provider, etc.).

What countries are eligible?

Nominations are accepted from all around the world. An international panel will choose one winning team the four regions – North America, Latin America, Europe, and Asia/Rest of World.

Nomination Timeline

February 22, 2022

Nomination period opens.

April 22, 2022

Nomination period closes. 

August 6, 2022

Winners are announced at the 2022 World Conference on Lung Cancer, in Vienna, Austria. 


  • Trust
  • Shared decision making
  • Empathy
  • Access to care
  • Treatment options
  • Educational information
  • Tumor testing
  • Patient Support & survivorship


An international panel chooses one winning team from each of the four regions -

  • North America
  • Latin America
  • Europe 
  • Asia/Rest of World. 

Recognizing outstanding patient care in the field of thoracic malignancies.

The 2021 IASLC Cancer Care Team Award recognizes extraordinary patient care in the field of thoracic malignancies. Awardees are nominated by patients and their loved ones. 

Past Winners

Overall Winner

Asia/Rest of World 

Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre Multidisciplinary Lung Cancer Team, Melbourne, Australia 

  • Ben Solomon, MD
  • Nikki Plumridge, MBBS, FRANZCR
  • Mary Duffy, RSCN, RGN, RSM
  • Ekaterina Kamyshev, PhD
  • Lou Irving, MBBS, FRACGP, FRACP
  • Mr. Phillip Antippa 

Regional Winners

Latin America

Instituto Nacional de Canceroligía, Tlalpan, Mexico

  • Oscar Arrieta, MD
  • Feliciano Barron 
  • Luis Cabera 
  • Maritza Ramos 
  • Francisco Corona 
  • Marisol Arroyo 
  • David Heredia 
  • Luis Lara
  • Edgar Varela
  • Diana Flores
  • Yuzmiren Dorantes
  • Adriana 
  • Lopez
  • Richard Alcantar
  • Noram Hernandez
  • Juan Manuel Hernandez
  • Guadelupe Tellez
  • Lucia Zatarain
  • Jaime de la Garaza
  • Federico Maldonado
  • Jenny G. Turcott
  • Daniela Cardenas
  • Lourdes Sanchez


Royal Marsden Hospital and Institute of Cancer Research, London, United Kingdom

  • Sanjay Popat 
  • Ms. Joanna Vick 
  • Dr. Susanne MacMahon
  • Dr. Fiona McDonald 
  • Dr. Liam Welsh

North America

UW Health, Madison, Wisconsin, USA

  • Dr. Narjust Duma
  • Dr. Toby Campbell 
  • Dr. Amy Jaeger
  • Kimberly K. RN
  • Dr. Ticiana Leal 
  • Dr. Clare O'Connor
  • Dr. Anne Traynor

Overall Winner 

North America 

Mount Sinai Hospital, New York, New York, USA

  • Andrea Wolf, MD
  • Marissa Senise, NP
  • Jorge Gomez, MD
  • Jessica Fernandez, PA
  • Thomas Marron, MD, PhD
  • Stephanie Lehrman, LCSW
  • Kenneth Rosenzweig, MD

Regional Winners 

Latin America 

Instituto De Oncologia 'Angel H. Roffo' Buenos Aires, Argentina

  • Monica Castro, MD
  • Mara Bonet, MD
  • Carolina Gabay, MD
  • Pablo C. Morgado, MD


Klinikum Würzburg Mitte, Würzburg, Germany 

  • Jens Kern, MD
  • Jürgen Wolf, PhD
  • Gabi Hautsch, RN
  • Danjouma Cheufou, MD

Asia/Rest of World 

Beilinson Hospital - Rabin Medical Center Petach Tikva, Israel

  • Alona Zer, MD
  • Tal Danin Ovad, BA
  • Hiba Reches, RN

Overall Winner

Asia/Rest of World 

Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education & Research (PGIMER)

  • Navneet Singh 
  • Amanjit Bal 
  • K.T. Prasad 
  • Nalini Gupta 
  • Rakesh Kapoor 

Regional Winners 

Latin America 

Brazilian National Cancer Institute

  • Carlos Gil Ferreira 
  • Tatiane Montella 
  • Bruna Carvalho
  • Juliana Vasconcellos 
  • Gisele Fraga
  • Immanuely Borchart 


University Hospital of Grenoble

  • Denis Moro-Sibilot 
  • Matteo Giaj Levra 
  • Anne-Claire Toffart 
  • Julian Pinsolle 
  • Gil Frey 
  • Loic M. Ferrand 
  • Gilbert Ferretti 

North America

Memorial Cancer Institute

  • Luis E. Raez 
  • Paola Izquierdo 
  • Alba Baglietto 
  • Gelenis Domingo 
  • Mark Block 
  • Ana Botero 
  • Ignacio Castellon 
  • Danelle Mileu 
  • Brian Hunis 
  • Matthew Salzberg 
  • Michaela Roldan 
  • Daniel Sumarriva 
  • Kimberly Brown 
  • Francisco Tarrazzi 
  • Bella Mendez 

Overall Winner 

Latin America 

Nucleo de Oncologia da Bahia, Salvador, Bahia, Brazil 

  • Angela Bandeira 
  • Marilia Cardoso 
  • Edilene Dias 
  • Ana Carla Franco 
  • Felipe Gomes 
  • Gildete Lessa 
  • Eldsamira Mascarenhas 
  • Clarissa Mathias 
  • Ricardo Oliveira 
  • Marelia Pereira 
  • Neila Pereira 
  • Bruno Protasio 
  • Almiro Queiroz 
  • Tercia Reis 
  • Leonardo Correia Santana 
  • Edilene Souza 
  • Tatiane Souza  
  • Sergio Tadeu 

Regional Winners 

Asia/Rest of World 

Prince of Wales Hospital, The Chinese University of Hong Kong 

  • Hang-ching Au (Asti) 
  • Ka-Wah Chu 
  • Kwai-tung Lai (Dong) 
  • Mr. Terence Ho 
  • Jane Koh 
  • Kwok-chi Lam 
  • Linda Leung 
  • Herbert Loong 
  • Stephen Kai-Chiu Man 
  • Tony Mok 
  • Annette Poon 
  • Ashley Wong 
  • Sherlaine Yau 


University of Turin, AOU San Luigi Hospital, Turin, Italy and Women Against Lung Cancer Europe (WALCE)  

  • Marco Busso 
  • Simona Carnio 
  • Enrica Capelletto 
  • Silvia Novello 
  • Maria Vittoria Pacchiana 
  • Stefania Vallone 

North America 

University of Chicago Medicine, Chicago, USA 

  • Brittany Beach 
  • Christine Bestvina 
  • Katelyn Edgington 
  • Jyoti D. Patel 
  • Jessee Porter 
  • Livia Szeto 

Asia/Rest of World 

Guangdong Lung Cancer Institute 

Latin America 

Neo Toraz, Grupo Oncologia D'Or


Institute of Lung Diseases and Tuberculosis and Lung Diseases

North America 

  • Johns Hopkins Medicine, Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center 
  • Rush University Medical Center